h1

Lighting up the tunnErl Pt 1.

January 4, 2009

Well after a few months of playing around with Erlang, I thought I’d put my findings in one place for myself and others.

Well for those that aren’t familiar with Erlang or never heard of it, in a nut shell Erlang is a functional programming language create multiple processes across multiple nodes, allowing for a reliable & fault tolerant system.

It allows us as developers to develop applications over a number of nodes, these nodes can be either local to the machine they are running on or on a totally different machine running the same software, this allows for concurrent reliable systems.

I wont go into too much detail on how all this works because it’s done so well in other places (Erlang).

This post will cover the learning resources I’ve found useful & invaluable to my exploration into Erlang, the 2nd will highlight mistakes & general cock-ups made over the past few months. Followed by the 3rd, dealing with project management and how we can achieve this & more with Faxien & Sinan.

There is a decent number of sources out there for Erlang from code examples to general tutorials & articles a few of them which you can find at the bottom of this post. Not to mention a hell of alot of useful and interesting projects created with Erlang (CouchDB, ErlyWeb, Mochiweb to name a few).

Myself I’m focusing on using Mochiweb, Beepbeep & CouchDB for web applications. Mochiweb to deal with RESTful requests/responses, Beepbeep to deal with the MVC  of the application & CouchDB to store data (documents). If you haven’t already read up on CouchDB I suggest you do, it may well give you some nice ideas ;).

Well I as mentioned in a previous post I’ve had the itch to learn a new language. I started off by reading Programming Erlang by Joe Armstrong (a must have for anyone making the jump into the world of Erl. It has helped me no end when my brain goes blank & I’ve forgotten how something in Erlang works. Over the months I’ve practically slept with my copy, the examples are elegant and Joe has an excellent job of creating a good introduction to Erlang and its practices.

That is where ‘Erlang In Practice‘ (Screencasts by Kevin Smith) this set of screencasts are definately worth the £20 odd I spent on it. The most useful being episode 6 & 8 which focus on e-unit & supervisors respectively. Though admittedly the episode on e-unit could of focused a bit more on testing OTP based modules (I guess I’ll have to pick this up later).

Still there is more to learn, personally the best way to learn something is to do it, so I’ve played around with the shell whilst working through examples, got myself familar with the OTP documentation and stifted the net for code examples, githubs a nice place to look (ngerakines, davebryson & few others have some decent code you can get some ideas/insipration from)

Resources
There are alot of new tools coming out and it is always interesting to see what others are doing, heres some sites/blogs that I find myself practically attached to:

Well I think that pretty much wraps it up for part 1, part 2 is in the drafts so it should be published in the near future. If you have come across any other useful resource, feel free to drop me a comment, the more information the better imo 😉

4 comments

  1. Hello,

    I think the screencast you are refering to are from Kevin Smith and not Micheal Smith


    • I make you right Mickaël Rémond, cheers for the correction & apologies Kevin ;).


  2. […] Tutorial, information & code focussing on TDD, PHP & programminng in general. « Lighting up the tunnErl Pt 1. Lighting up the tunnErl Pt 2 – Discovering a new wErld January 5, 2009 This post […]


  3. […] in Practice‘ I would of given up past Erlang’s docs title page. The resources in my post helped me no bound, along with my stubborness to work things out I don’t think I would of […]



Leave a Reply

